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Act 2009-746 - Manufactured Home 

Certificate of Title Act  

 
Provisions 

• Manufactured Home Dealer Licensing 

Requirements 

• Allows for out of state lending institutions 

to become designated agents 

• Exempts manufactured homes 20 models 

years old or older from titling and 

cancellation requirements 



 Act 2009-746 - Manufactured Home 

Certificate of Title Act 

Provisions 
 

• Removes manufactured homes from 

salvage title law  

• Adds an additional $5 fee for Transaction 

Code 01, 03 & 44 MH applications 

• Additional $5 fee paid to Alabama Housing 

Foundation 



Act 2009-746 - Manufactured Home 

Certificate of Title Act 

Provisions 

• Establishes two surety bond amounts: 

–$50,000 for manufactured homes less than 10 

model years old 

–$25,000 for manufactured homes 10 to 19  

model years old 

• The bond covers the entire manufactured 

home (sides A, B, C, etc) 

 



 Act 2009-746 - Manufactured Home 

Certificate of Title Act 

Provisions 

• Creates a new Transaction Code 44 

– Certificate of Cancellation due to affixation to 

real property -Reference 32-20-20, Code of 

Alabama 1975 

 
 



 Act 2009-746 - Manufactured Home 

Certificate of Title Act 

Provisions 

• Streamlines cancellation procedures 

• MVT 5-33 & MVT 5-36 are no longer valid. 

• New MVT 5-39E - Notice of Cancellation  

• Three primary documents: 
Manufactures Statement of Origin 

Alabama Title  

Manufactured Home Bond 
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Manufacturer’s Statement 

(Certificate) of Origin 
 

Alabama Title   



 Under the tab “Manufactured Homes” choose 

“Notice of Cancellation” 

MVT 5-39E 



“Pre-qualifier” screen 

complete required data field and click  

“Continue” 



Complete required fields & click  

“Save & Print” 



Notice of Cancellation of a Certificate of Title or Alabama 

Certificate of Title  

MVT 5-39E 



Under the tab “Manufactured Homes” –choose 

“MH Cancellation Application” 



Enter the DCN & VIN from MVT 5-39E - 

then click “Continue” 



On the “Vehicle/Title” tab, all data fields are pre-

populated from the MVT 5-39E 



On the “Parties” tab, complete required data fields 

and click “Save & Print” 



Application for Certificate of Cancellation 

MVT 5-44E 

Transaction Code “44” 



  

 
Surety Bond 



Under the “Manufactured Homes” tab –choose 

“MH Bond” 



On the Pre-qualifier, enter VIN(s) and click 

“Continue” 



Complete required fields & click “Save & Print” –Note the 

bond amount is determined by the model year 



Manufactured Home Bond  

MVT 11B (Valid 90 days) 



 Under the tab “Manufactured Homes” choose 

“Notice of Cancellation” 

MVT 5-39E 



“Pre-qualifier” screen 

complete required data field and click  

“Continue” 



Information Pre-populated From MH Bond  

“Save & Print” 



Notice of Cancellation of a Certificate of Title or Alabama 

Certificate of Title  

MVT 5-39E 



Under the tab “Manufactured Homes” –choose 

“MH Cancellation Application” 



Enter the DCN & VIN from MVT 5-39E - 

then click “Continue” 



On the “Vehicle/Title” tab, all data fields are pre-

populated from the MVT 5-39E 



On the “Parties” tab, complete required data fields 

and click “Save & Print” 



Application for Certificate of Cancellation 

MVT 5-44E 

Transaction Code “44” 



CERTIFICATE OF CANCELLATION 



References 
Chapter 20, Title 32; Code of Alabama 1975 

• http://alisondb.legislature.state.al.us/acas/CodeOfAlaba

ma/1975/161882.htm  

 

Administrative rules 

• http://www.revenue.alabama.gov/motorvehicle/rules.html 

 

Titles e-mail address 

• titles@revenue.alabama.gov 
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